Electronic Travel Authorisation

By April 2025, all visitors who do not need a visa will need an electronic travel authorisation (ETA) to travel to or transit through the UK.

An ETA costs £10 and permits multiple journeys to the UK for stays of up to six months at a time over two years, or until the holder's passport expires – whichever is sooner.

British and Irish citizens do not require an ETA. See the <u>full list of countries who will need to apply for an ETA</u> on GOV.UK.

Visitors can apply in advance, and all visitors to the UK will require an ETA according to the following timeline:

- Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) visitors already need an ETA to travel to and transit through the UK.
- Eligible non-Europeans can apply in advance from 27 November 2024 and will need an ETA to travel from 8 January 2025.
- Eligible Europeans can apply from 5 March 2025 and will need an ETA to travel from 2 April 2025.

Applications must be made individually and can be made via mobile app or online at GOV.UK. Decisions are typically returned within 3 working days. Find more information about ETA requirements and how to apply.

